Posted by: shatteredblog | June 10, 2008

Achievement Points, Level 39 Assassin

So today I dinged level 39 on Kasul, and since I got a hit from a search engine recently looking for ‘predator achievement setup’ I thought I would share my character build with you so you can tell me what I’m doing wrong as a newbie to EQ2!

Kasul has benefitted from the “gray quests give achievement experience”, he currently has 41 points. Of these, I have 21 spent in Assassin and the remainder spent in Predator. Here’s the breakdown:

I’ve spent my points in the Assassin tab exclusively on Tricks. I did this to get the Repeated Stabbing bonus, which halves the recovery on all combat arts. This makes fights faster as I can spam my skills and usually take down a green before the dot skills can refresh. Along the way, I bought duration upgrades for Cheap Shot and Numbing Strike (stun skills) to increase my survivability and reuse upgrades for Torment and Sinister Strike. The Torment is useful when you get several mobs in the fight at once, when the debuff refreshes I can use it on another mob to decrease their mitigation and then continue killing the first one. Sinister Strike isn’t as useful now as it will be when I’ve completed more Lore and Legend quests, but still is useful against mobs that I have completed (orcs, kobolds, skeletons, gnolls and goblins… sad I know.)

On the Predator side I’m putting points into the AGI line, which I’m sure you scouts out there will tell me I shouldn’t be doing. It’s a conceit of mine that I enjoy the extra run speed, and the Point Blank Shot ability allows me to work on ranged skill outside of a group without resorting to a root doll. I find that I tend to pull mobs with my long cooldown stabby skills instead of with the bow, which is a bad habit. After a few more points I’m planning to start down the STR line to increase my melee abilities (and the vast majority of the damage I do.)

Here are my Master II skills, of which I’m still using Assassin’s Blade and Numbing Strike. The upgrade to Assassin’s Blade (Condemning Blade) does lower damage at apprentice 1 and until my jewelcraft is high enough I’ll probably refrain from using it.

So, that’s me… feel free to tell me what I’m doing wrong.

As a side note, I really appreciate everyone who comes to read my blog… when I started it I really was expecting only to be speaking to myself, but there are a few of you out there who are back here even when I don’t have a new post and I wanted to thank you for that. EQ2 is primarily a social game and it means alot to know I have a few friends out there.

Responses

  1. Congratulations on all the dings, and aa!

  2. Thankees 🙂

    As I said before, double exp weekends have really made a big difference. Too bad I have to work this weekend 😦


Leave a Reply

Categories

