Posted by: shatteredblog | July 4, 2008

Goodbye, hope for the future

I don’t want to make a habit of putting my political views out on this blog because that’s really not what it’s for. This is the place where I talk about my other lives, not my uninteresting real life. I just really felt the need to say something about this, so indulge me for a moment.

Today one of the stalwarts of the old guard of southern republican conservatism died, at the age of 86. Jesse Helms, former senator from North Carolina. I just wanted to say goodbye to one of the few remaining openly bigoted and spiteful people who have served in the government of the United States. Remember that this is the man who made the race of his opponent the focus of one reelection campaign, openly solicited people to call him a bigot and once threatened the president of the United States. A quick look at his wikipedia entry is enough background to show the character of this man.

Goodbye Mr. Helms. May bigotry, prejudice and hatred die with you, and the infection you spread leave this country to move toward the future.

Leave a Reply

Categories

