Posted by: shatteredblog | July 25, 2008

Moving up (and seeing more) in the world of EQ2

Some things just make you feel like a dope. I’ve been playing Everquest 2 for three months now and hadn’t played much with the display or control options, but getting a headset and rebinding a few keys put me into that menu last night. Well, after playing with the particle effects and shadows, I feel like I’ve been playing without my glasses. Who knew spells had effects, other than the few that threw off a ghost animal that I could see before?

<~~>

Playing with the headset is a new experience too, of course. I didn’t know there was a chorus that sang in the music in Timorous Deep, I couldn’t hear it through my other speakers. Last night I was playing catchup with the void storms quest, and who knew void beasts made noise? For that matter, who knew the storm included a huge black cloud? (Actually I did know about the cloud, from screenshots other people have taken.) Anyway, that makes me feel a little noobish.
I left those screens with the UI visible because the next step for me is a full UI upgrade. Stargrace has been talking up Profit UI for a couple weeks now, and I think it’s time to make the change. It’s little things, like how much of the screen can I see when I have bags open, or for screenshots… and forgetting that I’m afk and somebody making fun of me for it. I downloaded a custom track window that I can’t move (they deleted all the border) and I downloaded a quest journal plugin that crashed the system when I tried to use it, so now I think it’s time for a comprehensive change that I can pick and prod into shape later. The basic UI is functional of course, but it’s big and blocky even at 1680X1050.

At any rate, I’ll be sure to let you all know how it goes when I make the change.

Responses

  1. Profit rocks – though I do believe you have an option to resize your bags (and hotbars) in the base UI versions.

    That track window you say you can’t move, I bet you can. My track window has frames removed as well. Number one, right click it and make sure you have “titles, all’ or whatever selected when you go into window options.

    Number two, try to mouse over the top right hand side, a little down, and see if a grey square shows up. If it does, that’s where you drag from.

    Make sure click through is not enabled

    Sorry if I make it sound like instructions for a four year old, but these are the basic simple things I had issues with myself when installing UI parts.


Leave a Reply

Categories

