Posted by: shatteredblog | October 25, 2008

Stronghold of Agnarr

Hello all, I know this is a couple days late but better late than never, right?

Nostalgia the Guild made its first trip into Bastion of Thunder on Friday. We’ve had a week to gain experience again and everyone is in the 61-63 range now, perfect for hunting giants in the lower portion of Agnarr’s place. I was late because of work and couldn’t join the group until after they’d been crawling about for a couple hours, so no screenshots of the action this time. I might have an oldie I can fit in though. 🙂

The big news is that Seeds of Destruction is out, and with it come NPC Hirelings who you can add to your group for a small fee. Stargrace and I had a chance to test it out in Plane of Storms before Friday, which is where this screen is from. The tank type Hireling does an amazing job of keeping aggro off the group and on themselves, in Storms I was going full dps and not pulling the mob off our Vah Shir friend.

On Friday while the group was off collecting loot in the wings of BoT I hired a tank of my own and gave soloing a try. Amazingly, I was able to kill three giants (two of them yellow to me) in one pull with little trouble. After slowed, the tank held all three and my pet and what dot spells would stick burned down the tall beasties. I’m looking forward to seeing what else I can do now that I have a little assistance.

We talked last night about raiding in the Planes of Power. It’s a dream that we could gather the people needed to take on an encounter like Agnarr, but with levels and gear maybe it will be possible. I personally would like to see (when we get there of course) what a single group could do in a zone like Vex Thal or Txevu with the raised level cap. If named in Vex Thal could be one grouped (and I bet they can) then it would be fun to crawl through the zone and relive old memories again. One day, perhaps.

Picture from the old days, as promised. The Agnarr fight is a beautiful one, and I’m glad I got to experience it. I’m glad for all my experiences from those days, and the screenshots are reminders of what was.

Next to write about, Halloween in Norrath! Coming soon. 🙂

Responses

  1. While you can definitely one-group stuff in VT with the right gear and levels, the stuff has so many hit points that it wouldn’t be that much fun. And there is SO MUCH TRASH. Every guild I know of used tricks to skip most of the trash.

    I’d love to do some PoP raids, but I can’t think of any off hand that can be done with a single group… we def need more people.


Leave a Reply

Categories

