Posted by: shatteredblog | March 18, 2009

Sunny, Sunny Florida

I’m visiting my sister and brother in law in Florida this week, taking a couple days off work and enjoying the warm weather. My nephew has been keeping me very busy when he isn’t napping, and it’s been good to be out of the city and around family again.

img_3270

Today no nap for me (I had afternoon naps on monday and tuesday). My sister wanted to do some yardwork and after putting on some sunscreen I went to join her. She did the mowing and I did hedge trimming with an electric trimmer. While we worked the anoles who live in the hedges and rosebushes were up on the walls of the house watching us, letting us know they were there. I tried to take a picture but didn’t get any worth sharing, maybe tomorrow. Seeing the little lizards everywhere is a different experience, as the only lizards you see commonly in Ohio are snakes. We have amphibians in Ohio, salamanders and such… but they stay to the streams and rivers and don’t sit on the walls of your home basking in the sunlight.

In two of the hedges we saw wasp nests, luckily neither was occupied. One bush had a large bird’s nest, also uninhabited… I attempted to move it to a tree that didn’t need to be cut. It was good to be out, and the sun felt great here. It’s not the same getting sun in Ohio when the air is 40 degrees and winter is still upon us.

Been watching the news while I’m here, really excited to see that the Issue 14 update for City of Heroes has entered open beta, and even more excited that missions you create in the beta can be used when the update goes live! Seeing what people create and creating a few of my own is going to take up a lot of time in the near future, I’m sure.

And speaking of City of Heroes, there may have been a certain supervillain whos dancing the night away was recorded for posterity. That mysterious lady with the reactor arms teleported away at the end of the night, and the music in the pocket dimension went on. Some nights are meant for mystery, don’t you think?

Have a great evening, everyone.

Responses

  1. =)

  2. Man I wish I could sleep that soundly! Cute little bugger!

    And thanks for reminding me… I need to mow the lawn this weekend I think. Bleh!


Leave a Reply

Categories

