Posted by: shatteredblog | April 19, 2009

The Amateur Hobbyist

So it’s been years since I played a tabletop minatures game. I have a few White Dwarf magazines from 1999, and then some from 2001… a printed copy of the 3rd edition Warhammer 40K rules… minatures from the release of the Lord of the Rings tabletop and a handful of orcs and goblins from when I played Mordheim at the comic shop. It was about three years ago I wanted to get involved again (the trigger was moving closer to the hobby shop I played at before college) and I bought the 40K Battle for Macragge box from someone on ebay. That adventure was put to a stop when I was married and then moved again, and the minatures I bought laid assembled but unpainted in the box.

I’ve got the itch again, so I’m going to give painting up my tyranids another try. I have (already trimmed and assembled) a small brood of genestealers and gaunts with fleshborers from the Macragge box, a fairly large brood of hormagaunts and a brood of gaunts with spinefists. Under the current codex, it’s around 350 points worth of models unupgraded. If you aren’t familiar with the Warhammer 40k tabletop game, the points are a value the unit has meant to allow you to build a balanced army to fight against another force. A typical game is two forces with equal points value (usually 1500) battling according to a scenario from the rulebook. So my little force is a good starting point, though I would need some HQ support before I’d be able to play an actual game with them.

I made a promise to myself that I’m not going to buy any more models (barring an amazing deal on ebay) until I’ve painted the models I have, so today I put together a painting station to use.I have an old wooden schooldesk that’s been refinished that I used to start:

04-19-09_1641Oliver was helping me size things up there. 🙂 It’s no good painting on the bare desktop of course, so a cover of box paper was the next step, as well as digging out all my model supplies to put in place. Here’s the result:

04-19-09_1651

I still have brushes, trays, knives and glue from before but the paints I had have dried out and are unusable. The pots in the picture are just for show, hehe. :-X Once I’ve decided on a paint scheme and gone to buy paints I’ll be ready with my desk to get started.

Here are the models I have to work on, I think you’ll agree it’s plenty to get me started!

04-19-09_1757These are troops models, and they aren’t large. The bases are 25mm, about the size of a quarter. For their size, the plastic kits are amazingly detailed… and I wish I had a camera that could show that. Something for me to work on!

04-19-09_1802I’ll keep you updated on my progress, thinking about going to the hobby store for paint and primer tomorrow and getting them undercoated. Wish me luck, and see you next time!

Responses

  1. Can’t wait to see the models get painted 🙂

  2. Ohhh looking forward to seeing them!

  3. I’ll be living vicariously through you! My eyes are too bad to do mini painting these days. It was always something I was going to get around to but never did.

    Looking forward to seeing how they turn out.

    And I’d be wary of that helper, if I were you. I detect a mischievous aura.

  4. There is certainly something zen like sitting and painting miniatures.

    Some good coffee and a couple of great CD’s. Cant wait to see the finished goodies.

  5. […] is something I’d also like to get back into – both in game and out. Inspired by Kasul and his return to miniatures, I decided that I’d like to try my hand at it as well. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

