Posted by: shatteredblog | December 8, 2009

Sandstone House with Shingles

So my little shaman in Vanguard is an apprentice mineralogist now, and at apprentice level you can begin to make bricks and cornerstones for housing. I decided to build myself a house and went around to find a place to build it.

After some debate about whether I’d rather live high in the mountains of Thestra or on a sunny wind-swept island off Kojan I found a pretty lot on Daegarmo isle, a little ways from where Stargrace has her home. I love the way the bamboo shades this lot, and the price was affordable too!

Now, in Vanguard you aren’t given a ready made home to decorate. You have to gather the materials to build your home before you can live in it, and it took me a few weeks to get there. In all I needed 100 bricks, 40 shingles and a good collection of beams, boards, window coverings and fasteners… as well as a cornerstone made of rare soapstone. Gathering the materials and finding help to make what I couldn’t took some time, during which my home was just a skeleton.

Today I was able to make the last of what I needed thanks to some of the great people in Safe Haven, and now I have a little home all my own! A home in Vanguard is doubly special because it is shared between all characters on your account, and can hold lots of decorations and even storage chests for that little bit of extra bank space.

Want the tour? It will be quick, I promise ๐Ÿ™‚

Here we have the back wall, with a cot for sleeping and foodstuffs tucked in the corner.

And facing the other way you can see my table (80 silver on the exchange!) with some stools and sandstone tableware. On Kanad’s right is a firepit I made, and decorating the rest of the home are items from the Festival of Gloriann last year that I had saved in the bank.

So thrilled to have a home, and looking forward to finding and making more things to decorate it. Thanks again to all the folks of Safe Haven for the help in construction, means alot to me.

Responses

  1. CONGRATULATIONS!

    What a neat house!

  2. Grats! Looks very nice ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

