Posted by: shatteredblog | January 14, 2010

Returning to Eden

With things being in that in between time and my usual winter restlessness I recently reactivated my EVE account. I’d only played through the free trial before, so my Ethomas is still a low skill capsuleer but in EVE that just means that you have room to grow into any career you wish. Over the past few weeks I’ve been getting back into the game, and have been running lots of level 1 and 2 missions to raise funds for new ships and upgrades.

I’m not a pvp person, never really have been. A big part of what turned me off in EVE the first time was the way that pvp culture fills the game. Even in Empire space, where any hostility is met with lethal force by the CONCORD police force you still see people do things like can flipping, rename storage containers to tempt people into agressing them, spam local chat channels with auction scams, and even carry out large scale abusive targetting of people who choose to avoid low/nullsec play through Hulkageddon style organized griefing. For people who enjoy that sort of cutthroat gameplay EVE is a universe full of danger and excitement and honestly that’s great for them.

I on the other hand would rather not have that be all there is to the game, and of course it isn’t. Exploration of space is a rewarding activity that I’ve been pursuing lately, and while I do missions my skill queue has been working up the skills needed to fly a ship called the Helios, a probing ship that can fit an advanced cloaking device. I’m looking forward to being able to scout in lowsec and wormhole space for people in the corporation while also learning skills to fly battlecruisers and battleships for higher level missions. I don’t know how long EVE will hold my interest but there is so much to do and so much to see that I’m sure it will be for a while yet.

Responses

  1. “I’m not a pvp person, never really have been. A big part of what turned me off in EVE the first time was the way that pvp culture fills the game.”

    “scout in lowsec and wormhole space for people in the corporation”

    scouting in lowsec/wormhole = pvp


Leave a Reply

Categories

